My Writing Muscle

Yesterday I mentioned that I am slowly getting back into the swing of stretching my writing muscles. It’s kind of funny how that seems to work. I am the first one to admit that I am struggling to find my momentum with Bases Empty. In my life outside of writing the past two months have been incredible stressful and more than a little bit sad. I think that is part of the reason why getting this book started has been such a struggle. After all, it is kind of difficult to write about two people falling in love when everything feels like its falling apart. 

I have worked through all the negative emotions surrounding my stressful two months. I have done an incredible amount of soul searching. After all, I am standing on the cusp of a brand new beginning. In many ways, I am pressing reboot on my life in the nest two weeks. That means I can make it look like anything I want to from this point forward. What I want is fairly simple: 

1. I want to write. I need to write. It is part of my soul. I do want to have a career as a self-published author. I think I just got a bit overwhelmed after publishing Line Drive. When you are solely responsible for promoting your books, for finding readers…well, it can be more than a little intimidating. 

2. I want to create. Next to writing, the thing I am most driven to do is crochet and craft. I know that I can use these talents to give back. When the This Nanny Crochets shop launches, 20% of my profits will be donated to Hockey Fights Cancer. The reasons behind this are simple. My Papa Bear has been fighting prostate cancer since 2010. He is pretty much my hero and anything I can do to help fight the big fight is something I will do. On the Tumblr blog you will also find a variety of recipes and fun crafts to do with your kids. As my nanny career continues to flourish, I will write about things I am doing with my charges, instead of always posting things from other sources. 

3. Continue my education. It may not make sense to some people. After all, I have a college degree and the loans to prove it, but continuing my education is very important to me. Ultimately, I would like to be able to teach courses at the community college level, and I need a master’s degree to do so. Currently, I am trying to decide between a number of programs. I’m hoping to spend the fall applying and start next year. 

Outside of those things, I just want to be a good wife, daughter, sister, friend and mother. My family and my friends (many of whom are my family) are important to me. I hope they all know that. 

I kind of got off track from what I was going to originally talk about today, focusing on my goals rather than talking about my writing muscle. Yes, I’m convinced that writing (and most talents) are like muscles; they can atrophy without proper training. Getting off topic isn’t the end of the world. Heck, I’m writing. That means I’m using that muscles. Maybe I will talk about muscles some more tomorrow. 

Until then.

XO,

E

Leave a Reply

